Social Technographic Profiles

This week I read Chapter 3 in Groundswell, entitled “The Social Technographic Profile”. I had no idea that this kind of technology (technographics) was available so easily online. The word technographic essentially means surveying customers with a focus on technology behaviours (Li & Bernoff, 2011, p. 41). Social technographics can be broken down into different levels a.k.a the ladder. Here are the different steps:

social-technographic-ladder

Source: Social technographic ladder. [IMAGE]. Retrieved from http://blogs.forrester.com/category/social_technographics

In my honest opinion, I fall into the category of a Critic. Besides this blog, I’ve never created my own website, or created my own video, so I’m definitely not a Creator. I do have social media websites, but I mostly like to see what other people post instead. I post sometimes, but rather  comment “like” photos and videos my friends post.  I do like commenting on other blogs and videos (on YouTuber) and rate products and services online (such as Amazon). I’ve even edited articles on Wikipedia before as well. Therefore, I am definitely a Critic, which is a great step ahead of being a Spectator, which I used to be a few years ago. One important aspect to note is that to be considered part of a certain category, you have to participate in the listed activities at least once per week.

I currently work at the Royal Alexandra Hospital Foundation as a receptionist. It’s definitely not the most “trendy” place to work at (compared to a retail store or a restaurant). Therefore, on its Facebook page, it has only 306 likes, even though a lot of people have used this facility and liked the service they received in person.  These 306 people fall into the Spectator segment of the ladder. They get the notifications that is posted on this Facebook page and probably read the posts. Now, of those 306, 4-5 people comment or “like” posts, which bumps them up to the Critics segment. It’s really interesting to see that The Royal Alexandra Hospital Foundation has more followers on Twitter (959 to be exact). This is where the company is the most active because they post different health related articles that are reported on the news. It depends on what is posted, but about 10-20 people comment/like/favourite posts on here. On Instagram, the Foundation has 98 followers, doesn’t get many comments, but receives 10-20 likes per photo as well. Overall, since this is a not for profit organization, it makes sense that less people are active on its  social media pages.

The Social Technographic Profile is very helpful for managers at a company looking to see which category most of their supporters fall – are they content creators, critics, collectors, spectators, or just inactive? To increase activity, the Royal Alex Foundation can encourage the spectators to post why they like the hospital. The company can also create a polls about how they liked their stay at the hospital if they’ve ever been there.  Doing online giveaways also boosts page-views and users interaction. After I graduate, I want to work at as an accountant. For the company that I choose to work at, they will probably have social media pages and probably more supporters (depending on the size of the company). By posting frequently about the work they do, clients they work with, ask for feedback companies can also gain more support and “fans”.

Just for fun, I ended up searching on Google, social technographics of women. Here is one of the images I found:

social-technographic-women

Source: Social technographic of women in the U.S. [IMAGE]. Retrieved from http://blogs.forrester.com/category/social_technographics

As a woman who is not a parent of a child, I am surprised that less of us who are Critics. Most woman (who have child or don’t) are Joiners or Spectators. I actually read a few blogs written by women and find them very interesting. I also think that the results would be lower in Canada because Canadian population is less than the U.S. population.

I also went to the Forrester website, and ended up generating a complimentary consumer technographic about mobile users in Canada. I was surprised to see more users own an Android device (I’m an Apple user), and only 21% use Apps daily. I personally use my device for social media (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) and checking emails.

understanding-mobile-users-globally-1

Source: Understanding mobile users in Canada. [IMAGE]. Retrieved from https://public.tableau.com/profile/publish/MobileUsersAcrosstheGlobe/UnderstandingMobileUsersGlobally#!/publish-confirm

This week’s was very informative. I hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts!

– Asma

Reference

Li, C., & Bernoff, J. (2011). Groundswell – Winning in a world transformed by social technologies. Harvard Business Review Press: Boston

Leave a Reply

